Is Creatine Vegan?

Advertisements

Is Creatine Vegan?

For those vegans looking to gain an edge in sport and fitness, you may have come across the popular legal supplement, Creatine. Creatine is only obtained from meat. This leads a vegan, naturally, to question whether or not this supplement is in fact vegan.

The answer to this question is simple, most if not all types of Creatine (monohydrate, HCL, etc) is suitable for vegetarians and vegans, as the raw materials used for the production of the supplement have no animal origin. It is synthetically produced in labs. I have seen some creatine supplements, on the market, extracted from Fish, however, this is not common practice since it is more expensive. There is no harm looking at the nutritional information on the back on the supplement for a label confirming that it is suitable for vegetarians or vegans.

Therefore, most, if not all, nutritional creatine supplements are vegan and the benefits of supplementation of creatine in vegans will be discussed in a separate article.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s